Thursday, September 8, 2011

IVs and Romance Novels (kind of)

Good morning, guys. Kind of just sitting here with nothing to do and I have about...an hour and a half 'till class starts, so, as usual, I'm just gonna blab on and on about stuff that's been happening this week. 

1. So, as many of you probably know from my Facebook/Twitter posts, I was admitted into the hospital last Wednesday afternoon. Which made me pretty sad for a couple of reasons:
     a) (I like outlines, for the record. I can organize my thoughts/notes/etc pretty well) I HATE hospitals. It's cold and there are lots of sick, sad people in pain and the food just sucks. So, being admitted is probably one of my least favorite things in the world.
     b) Wednesday was the official start of Puresond, and as an intern, I really really really didn't want to miss it. But obviously, I did. Which broke my heart. 
Normally, when I'm admitted, it's because my diabetes got out of control-which is the case here as well, but it's not the same circumstances as usual. My diabetes DID get out of control, but it's not because I just stopped taking care of myself. 
As a diabetic, I'm am dependent on my insulin injections for means of survival. So, I was running low on insulin. No big deal. I told my mom with a good 3 or 4 days advance, which is plenty of time to call the doctor to get the prescription refiled...yadda yadda. HOWEVER, my doctor refused to send the prescriptions to the pharmacy because I had not seen my Endocrinologist (my diabetes doctor) yet, which we quickly explained that we'd already scheduled an appointment, but it wouldn't be until the middle of September because that was the earliest we could. She still wouldn't send the info to the pharmacy. So, I ran out of insulin. And last Wednesday, I was sitting in class, freaking out because I hadn't had insulin in 24+ hours and I wasn't feeling very well. My friend called her dad, who works at University Hospital. He told me to just go to the ER and they would refill my stuff no problem. 
WELL, on the way to the ER, I got violently sick, and because my body can't self correct, I spiraled out of control, thus the reasoning for being admitted. 3 days later, I finally got to go home (and SHOWER) and rest and all that good stuff. 
The experience made me realize how blessed I am to have some of the people I have in my life. And I thank God every day for those people.

2. I've been talking to some of my guy friends about their...eh..."relationship problems". Let me start off by saying that these guys are absolutely amazing. They're so sweet and caring and they would do anything for anyone and any girl would be lucky to date them. And I'm not just saying that. Anywhoooo, They're talking to these girls and, in my humble opinion, they have feelings for them. Whether they're strong or not is irrelevant, but the feelings are obviously there. Now, in the past, these fabulous boys have had their hearts broken by some pretty mean girls. So, it's not surprising that they'd be hesitant to get into any kind of other relationship. Which I totally understand...to a point. 
I posted earlier this week something that pretty much sums up this whole point I'm trying to make: "Living in fear is not really living at all." 
I totally understand the hesitancy about new relationships if you've been hurt-I've been there. HOWEVER, (again, in my humble opinion) you can't go into every relationship comparing it to the last. It's not going to be the same, regardless of how much you think it will be. You've grown as a person, and your "significant other" is not the same as the last person you dated. If you go into every relationship, expecting it to be just like the last, you're not going to get anywhere you want to be. At all. 
If you guys are reading this: Not every girl is evil. Not every girl wants to break your heart. The past is the past for a reason. If you don't open your heart to other people, you're just going to stay in the same, lonely place. You won't progress into a relationship that God may want you to have. Love is a big risk, I know. But sometimes, it's worth the risk. I love you guys, and I wouldn't be saying this if I didn't care about you. 

So, yea. That's been on my mind. I figured I'd share it with you....for those who care, anyway. 
Hopefully, this helped someone, some way or another.

Have a blessed week, guys!

In His name,
XOXO
<3 
Linds